Scroll, scroll, scroll, and scroll again…

The new age of media is upon us and it comes in the form of little boxes which you can choose to like, ignore or comment on. Sounds farfetched, right? Well not really anymore, but 10 years ago definitely.

For me, I don’t have much of a clue about who really owns Instagram and yet I use it sometimes… okay a lot of the time…

Alright! Every spare minute I have.

Seriously, you don’t really realise how often you are on these “social” pages until you are without your smartphone when going somewhere.

Doctors waiting room? Better check my followers. Just finished work? Gotta check who’s liked my post. Leaving a funeral? Whats the new trending hashtag. Maybe an over-exaggeration, but it’s still quite terrifying how many hours I, and many others, put into these online personas. But we are the creators and artists behind this media platform without us there is no “social”. 

instagram-ads

Sponsored links are becoming more prominent amongst my Instagram feed, and it seems to be following the same trend as Facebook, with its astounding 75 million active users per day surely there is a better way to gain profit. Alas, we are stingy and do not want to pay for a service we have enjoyed for free for so long.

I’m not sure where Instagram will end up in the future but if it follows the same trends as Facebook I believe it will experience a steady decline in the years to come.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

